If you work in California, you should be aware of the rights you have as an employee. For example, did you know that if your shift is longer than five hours, you are legally entitled to a 30-minute meal break before your fifth hour of work ends? That’s right – you are entitled to rest and meal breaks if you work over a certain number of hours.
California Rest and Meal Break Laws
Rest and meal breaks are essential for maintaining your safety and health. As such, California law specifically mandates that employers provide meal and rest breaks at regular intervals. This includes:
- A 30-minute meal break if working more than five hours
- A second 30-minute meal break if working more than 10 hours
- A 10-minute rest break if working more than three and a half hours
- A 10-minute break for every 4 hours worked
As an employee, you can waive your rest or meal break, but your employer is legally required to make sure these periods are available to you. If your employer does not, he or she is violating your legal rights and California’s labor laws.
Rest breaks are paid for by the employer, but meal breaks are not. Be mindful of your time and clock in and out when appropriate for your meal breaks. If you do not take a meal break or are being manually clocked out for a break you didn’t take, you may be the victim of your employer’s unethical and illegal actions.
Have Questions about California Labor Law?
If you are not being provided with rest and meal breaks or are being clocked out for breaks that you didn’t take, contact Proxy Law Firm. Your employer may be violating your rights and California law. If so, you may be entitled to compensation. Learn more by calling us for a free consultation.